Return to News Listing

2016 Heritage Awards Recipients

Feb 16, 2016

Last night at Council, Mayor Lois E. Jackson presented the 2016 Heritage Award of Merit and Friends of Heritage Award. These awards are presented annually and are selected by the Heritage Advisory Commission based on nominations made throughout the year. 

2016 Delta Heritage Award of Merit Recipients

This year's Heritage Award of Merit Recipients are part of seven First Nations who worked with the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure to create the səẃq́ʷeqsən or "Recognition Area" located at the foot of the Alex Fraser Bridge. 

This year's recipients of the Heritage Award of Merit are:

  • Chief Bryce WIlliams and Council, Tsawwassen First Nation
  • Chief Wayne Sparrow and Council, Musqueam First Nation
  • Chief Susan Miller and Council, Katzie First Nation
  • Chief Marilyn Gabriel and Council, Kwantlen First Nation
  • Chief Maureen Thomas and Council, Tsleil-Waututh Nation
  • Chief Willard Cook and Council, Semiahmoo First Nation
  • Chief Ron Giesbrecht and Council, Kwikwetlem First nation

2016 Friends of Heritage Awards Recipients

The Friends of Heritage Awards are given to a project, individual, or group who promotes heritage conservation and awareness in education, publication or advocacy. 

This year's recipients of the Friends of Heritage Awards are:

  • Boundary Bay Park Association for their work promoting heritage through activities at the historic Cammidge House in Boundary Bay Park
  • Gary Cullen for promoting interest and awareness for local heritage through his Facebook group Tsawwassen: Old Photos
  • RIck Pelletier for his heritage photo restorations and installations at the buildings in Hawthorne Grove Park

Delta is also currently accepting applications for the 2016 Delta Heritage Advisory Commission Scholarship, valued at $1000. For more information about the scholarship, please visit